The following physicists will give a lecture at this year’s opening symposium:

Carlo Beenakker John Ellis Leo Kouwenhoven Sir John Pendry Erik Verlinde

Carlo Beenakker

Carlo W. J. Beenakker (born June 9, 1960) is a professor at Leiden University and leader of the university’s mesoscopic physics group, established in 1992. His work in mesoscopic physics addresses fundamental physical problems that occur when a macroscopic object is miniaturized.

In 1993, he shared the Royal/Shell prize for “the discovery and explanation of quantum effects in the electrical conduction in mesoscopic systems”. He was awarded one of the Netherlands’ most prestigious science awards, the Spinozapremie, in 1999. In 2006 he was honored with the Akzo Nobel Science Award “for his pioneering work in the field of nanoscience”.

John Ellis

Jonathan Richard Ellis (born July 1, 1946) is a British theoretical physicist and Clerk Maxwell Professor of Theoretical Physics at King’s College London. His activities at CERN are wide-ranging, and include being chair of the committee to investigate physics opportunities for future proton accelerators, and being member of the extended CLIC (Compact Linear Collider) Steering Committee.

He was awarded the Maxwell Medal and the Paul Dirac Prize by the Institute of Physics in 1982 and 2005 respectively, and has been an Elected Fellow of the Royal Society of London since 1985 and of the Institute of Physics since 1991. He was awarded an Honorary Doctorate from the University of Southampton, and twice won the First Award in the Gravity Research Foundation essay competition (in 1999 and 2005).

Leo Kouwenhoven

Leo Kouwenhoven (born December 10, 1963) is a professor at The Technical University of Delft and works with his group on the development of the quantum computer. He is also the scientific director of the QuTech-institute, where scientists and the Dutch high tech industry work together at the development of this computer.

He was awarded the Spinozapremie in 2007 and is seen as a global leader in the field of electronic properties of nano-structures. He is also responsible for a number of major breakthroughs in his field. As a pioneer, he has left his mark on research into so-called quantum dots.

Sir John Pendry

Sir John Brian Pendry (born July 4, 1943) is an English theoretical physicist known for his research into refractive indices and for the creation of the first practical “Invisibility Cloak“. He is a professor of theoretical solid state physics at Imperial College London, where he was head of the department of physics from 1998 till 2001.

He received the Isaac Newton Medal in 2014 and the Kavli Prize in Nanoscience for “transformative contributions to the field of nano-optics that have broken long-held beliefs about the limitations of the resolution limits of optical microscopy and imaging”, together with Stefan Hell, and Thomas Ebbesen, in 2014. In addition Sir John Pendry is the Lorentz professor of 2015.

Erik Verlinde

Erik Peter Verlinde (born January 21, 1962) is a Dutch theoretical physicist and string theorist. The Verlinde formula, which is important in conformal field theory and topological field theory, is named after him. His research deals with string theory, gravity, black holes and cosmology. Currently he works at the Institute for Theoretical Physics at the University of Amsterdam.

In June 2011, the Dutch organisation for scientific research (NWO) awarded Verlinde the Spinozapremie. The committee cited his work on the Verlinde formula, the Witten-Dijkgraaf-Verlinde-Verlinde equations, the Cardy-Verlinde formula and entropic gravity as the major achievements leading to the award.

Interested in the speakers of last years symposium? Click here.